top of page
  • viogarreconspe

Bass Magazine €? Issue 5 2019



Our 8th issue devoted to the bass and the women who play it has been so much fun putting together. I must say, when I started out on this journey, I did not have an adequate understanding of the importance that the bass played in music nor did I know that so many women had such command over this underestimated instrument. So much to learn and so little time it seems to explore this magical world of music!


In its special issue "The 100 Greatest Bass Players" in 2017, Bass Player magazine ranked Jamerson number one and the most influential bass guitarist.[3] In 2020, Rolling Stone magazine ranked Jamerson number one in its list of the 50 greatest bassists of all time.[4]




Bass Magazine – Issue 5 2019



Jamerson was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2000, among the first-ever group of "sidemen" to be inducted.[48] He received a Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award in 2004,[49] and he was inducted into the Musicians Hall of Fame in 2007 both as a member of the Funk Brothers.[50] In 2009 he was inducted into the Fender Hall of Fame by fellow Motown session bassist and friend, Bob Babbitt.[51][52] He received the Bass Player magazine's Lifetime Achievement Award in 2011.[53] He received the Samson, Hartke and Zoom International Bassist Award in 2012.[54] He was awarded a bust at the Hollywood Guitar Center's Rock Walk,[55] and in 2013 the Funk Brothers received a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.[56] In 2015 songwriter and bassist Brian Wilson of the Beach Boys named Jamerson as his favorite bassist.[57]


In a 1983 interview with Musician magazine, Jamerson said about Motown's songwriting-production team that they "would give me the chord sheet, but they couldn't write for me. When they did, it didn't sound right. (...) When they gave me that chord sheet, I'd look at it, but then start doing what I felt and what I thought would fit. (...) I'd hear the melody line from the lyrics and I'd build the bass line around that."[18][k]


Order an issue or subscribe to receive these leading how-to magazines straight to your door! Woodcarving Illustrated, Scroll Saw Woodworking & Crafts, and other special issues appeal to makers of all kinds on every level! 2ff7e9595c


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Hey You You Should Know That I 39;m Proud Mp3 Download

Ei, você deveria saber que estou orgulhoso: como baixar músicas em MP3 de graça A música é uma linguagem universal que pode expressar emoções, inspirar criatividade e trazer alegria para nossas vidas.

bottom of page